Click on the links below to read and/or view some media reaction regarding the second tri-nations test of 2011
We all know Richie McCaw pushes the boundaries of the Laws of the Game and he gets away with more than most — that’s what makes him the world’s best number 7. As a coach I’m always keen to see my number 7 pushing the referee as far as they can and then once they find the limit, backing off.
In the past we’ve seen plenty of illegal work at the breakdown from Sir Richie and we’ve seen his early detachment from scrums to run interference or score that try against the Wallabies last year, but on the weekend Sir Richie took things to a new level in the game against the Springboks.
It made me wonder whether one of his mates had dared him. The conversation may have gone something like this … ‘Richie, I’ll bet you can’t act as a second receiver at a lineout right in front of the referees and get away with it’ … ‘Well I’ll give it a try, but only if we’re 30 points ahead.’
And then the moment arrived, an All Blacks lineout and they were 33 points ahead. What choice did Sir Richie have? A dare’s a dare, but surely the referee or his assistant would see it!!